Tripura university to set up Bangladesh Study Centre

Platform for report news, views and opinions powered by citizen journalism and social media. You share. We air.

Tripura Central University will set up a Bangladesh Study Centre soon to teach Indian students more about the neighbouring nation, a top university official told.

“A Memorandum of Understanding (MoU) would be signed soon between the Tripura Central University, Dhaka University and University of Chittagong to establish the Bangladesh Study Centre. After the setting up of the Centre, the three universities would exchange scholars, faculties, academicians and curricula for the students,” the official said.

The official, who was unwilling to be identified before the signing of the MoU, said the setting up of the Centre will also facilitate people to do research work on Bangladesh, Indo-Bangla affairs and related matters.

“Signing of the MoU is now in the final stage. Foreign ministry officials of India and Bangladesh are giving finishing touches to the agreement,” the official said.

Tripura University would be the second after Jamia Millia Islamia in New Delhi to have a Bangladesh Study Centre.

The proposed Centre, the official said, would also help the people of the two countries to know more about each other and also to boost trade, economy, culture, language and life-style.

Indian Vice President Hamid Ansari conferred an honorary Doctor of Literature (honoris causa) of Tripura University on Bangladesh Prime Minister Sheikh Hasina during her two day visit to the northeastern state on Jan 11-12.

“I am extremely grateful to the university and the people of Tripura for giving me such a prestigious honour,” said Hasina after receiving the D.Litt. “The honour will inspire me to work more for the people of the (South Asian) region.”

This is for the first time that the Tripura University has confered the honorary D.Litt on any person after the university was set up in 1987.

Hasina expressed her government’s readiness to set up power plants in India’s northeast and boost trade with India, Nepal and Bhutan. Nepal, Bhutan

She said Bangladesh would allow India to use Chittagong and Mongla sea ports as it wanted to improve all types of communication facilities with the adjoining countries to improve trade and commerce and people-to-people relations.

Five Indian states – West Bengal, Meghalaya, Mizoram, Assam and Tripura – share a 4,095 km border with Bangladesh.

Leave a Reply

Connect with:

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *


You may use these HTML tags and attributes: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>